Uncategorized · Vintage

The Chap Olympiad

Just lately, I have been lucky enough to go to a few ‘Vintage’ events, so I thought I’d tell you about the Chap Olympiad first. The Olympiad is linked to The Chap Magazine, but Chapettes are equally welcome to join in.

I’ve been keen to go for a few years, but this is the first time we’ve had a chance to go. Well, it was definitely worth the wait!

The premise behind the Olympiad is to celebrate British eccentricity through silly Olympic style games, like umbrella jousting and tea pursuit. The idea is to ‘reward panache rather than sporting prowess’ and the games were hilarious. I went along with my eldest daughter, who is also genuinely one of my favourite people, and we just laughed all day long!

The Olympiad was held in Bedford square, so we went to Tottenham Court Road, and we were lucky, because as we got off the train, we spotted some ladies with their picnic baskets looking like 1920’s goddesses, and they kindly showed us where to go.

I would definitely recommend getting there a little early, as the queue to be admitted was long, but to be honest, everyone looked so amazing that the time went quickly admiring everyone’s outfits. We even had passers by taking photos of us.

When we got in, we set our picnic blanket up near the raised stage and got settled with our picnic. There is a slight downside in that you are not allowed to include even soft drinks in your picnics, as the event is produced by Bourne and Hollingsworth, who sell drinks at the event, but it’s no big deal, and the cocktails were tasty!

While we were there we bumped into the lovely GoldyLoxx, who I know though our shared love of Vivien of Holloway dresses. She was part of the entertainment team, as one of the ‘Nurses’ plying weary contestants with a blood bag full of Bloody Mary.

I also chatted to Zoe, who recognised me from shopping in Collectif regularly- there may be a theme here! She has just joined the British Belles, and looked amazing in a blue vintage dress. So beautiful!

The weather on the day was a tiny bit rainy here and there, but we didn’t let it dampen our spirits – get it?
Actually, it gave me a good excuse to buy my daughter a lovely hand knitted shawl from a stall nearby, which I may have to borrow at some point….

By the end of the day, we made our weary way home, already talking about next year’s visit. For more information about the Olympiad have a look at Chapolympiad.com and definitely check out Instagram for some more photos!


We loved dressing up for the day.
My Dress is a Vivien of Holloway Halterneck Circle dress, My Cardigan is New Look and I was very proud of my hat and bag which are from Crews Hill Vintage Emporium. My shoes, which can be seen on the picnic blanket, are Melissas via TK Maxx
My daughter’s lovely 40’s style dress is by Pretty Retro via Maggie Ann Vintage. Her very cool pin up backpack was a charity shop find.

Thanks Chap Magazine and Bourne and Hollingsworth – we can’t wait to come back next year!

Leave a comment