Vintage

Everything stops for tea…

I often describe myself as “Very British” in the sense that I’m a bit reserved, a stickler for doing the right thing, and that my body is about 70% tea instead of water…

In our family, tea drinking started at an early age, and as a Toddler, I would often wake up asking for a ‘cup of tea, two pillows’. I was a tea prodigy! Not much has changed, with my poor husband saying that he’s made more tea since we met than he did in his whole life previously!

So, when my youngest was little, my sister and I had a great idea, and we started a pop-up tearoom. We had a fab time and I loved it so much, working at vintage fairs and even setting up at the local fairy festival, with some very cute customers.

When I was offered the opportunity to set up a tearoom in my local church, I jumped at the chance, and the Put The Kettle On Tearoom was born. My sister helped me out lots, as did the rest of my family.

My Dad and I covered some of the cupboard doors with red and white polka dot oilcloth, my Mum made lovely floral curtains for the others. I filled the tearoom with vintage china and pretty things, created a children’s area with a mini tearoom for them to play in, and my friends Rebecca’s Cakes and Cakes and Treats for all provided yummy treats. I had an absolute blast, and my original 6 week summer job turned into 6 months…

We served sandwiches, cakes and a selection of teas, and it was an amazing time. I met the best people, and drank a lot of tea! Rebecca’s Whoopie Pies became a bit famous for a while there, they were amazing!

Eventually I moved on, but my love of tea, and my pretty china, stayed with me, being used for various different friends and family and even some charity events. But most of the time, it’s wrapped up carefully and stored away in boxes.

One of the things I love doing, is using my vintage china every day, and just lately, I’ve discovered Woods Ware and utility china. I went out for a cuppa with my friend Rebecca and she was telling me about the china she uses at home all the time. (Rebecca, it’s all your fault!) I thought it was a great thing to do, because I love my vintage china, but I worry about using it too often, in case it gets broken.

Utility china is great for using regularly, because it’s a bit more sturdy than most vintage china, and because it isn’t gilded or hand-painted, it’s easier to wash and use in the microwave.

img_1045

Woods Ware, which is my current favourite, is what I call ‘Church China’ because that’s where you’d often see it, in church halls and kitchens. It comes in 3 colours, Beryl, which is green, Iris, which is blue, and Jasmine, which is yellow. I love the mix of colours and I’ve now got a little collection, which you might’ve seen in my Home Sweet Home blog post, in pride of place in my kitchen cupboard.

So, now I have even more excuses for a cuppa, carrying on not only a family tradition, but a British one. Can’t be bad…

Both my girls have inherited the family ‘tea gene’ too. I am very proud! So much so, that I’ve asked my lovely girl to cover one of my favourite songs for us. Hope you enjoy it! Check out her YouTube channel here.

One thought on “Everything stops for tea…

Leave a comment