Vintage

Pin up picnic

To continue my summer catch up, I thought I’d talk about another one of my favourites, the Pin Up Picnic in the Park.

It’s an event organised by the British Belles (@thebritishbelles) every summer. The weather last year was a bit soggy, so they set us up in a bar, which was lovely, but in the past they’ve always been set up in Hyde Park, and so this year they returned to their roots!

I was a bit nervous getting ready, because I was without my partner in crime – Erin had to work. I didn’t let it stop me though, and I just messaged my friend Anna to see if she if she was going to be there for some moral support.

I chose to wear my new Love ur Look dress, Vintage straw hat and trusty sun-jellies. I accessorised my hair with some Alternate Normality Hair Flowers and off I went to get the train – after asking my family if I looked OK about 20 times…

When I got to the meet up outside the station, I was lucky enough to see a few people I knew, especially gorgeous Michelle @ladyoram who was so welcoming, and we talked about our respective journeys until I got over my nerves.

She’s an amazing lady, I’ve only met her a few times, but she chatted away to me, introduced me to people, and basically acted like the star she is. There was another lady that I kept trying to build myself up to chatting to, because she looked a bit shy, like me, and Michelle completely scooped her up and included her in the conversation.

When everyone started to go towards Hyde park, we hung on for a few minutes to wait for her daughter Eva @missleighboudoir to arrive. While we were waiting, a few fabulous ladies stopped to say hello, including the very glam Lady Eccentrik, @ladyeccentrikb She made her own awesome outfit, which was based on a 1950’s gingham sun set she’d seen.

Photo by the amazing Jill. (Miss Ruby Roxwell) She stopped the police car to get them to pose with us, but there were so many of us, you can hardly see it!

Everyone not only looked like something out of a vintage issue of Vogue, they were also fun, friendly and down to earth. The conversation flowed, people wandered around visiting each other, and we all made a point of including anybody new. We invited Vicky @ms_vixen, who was new to the group, to join us, and we had some good chats.

As the afternoon went on, despite the heat and a few persistent wasps, I met up with a few of my favourite people, Anna, Ellen, Emmie Stef and Jill, and everyone got settled on the picnic blankets for the duration. I had a lovely talk with Eccentrik, I’d not really spoken to her at length before, and she was really friendly. She was videoing people during the day, but I skilfully avoided that, telling her I didn’t want to crack her camera lens!

Photo by @stephaniejay_uk

It was such a lovely day, our group actually ending up being the last ones at the park! A few of us went off to Trader Vic’s tiki bar to end the evening, before I made my way back home. Looking forward to the next British Belles event…

Photo – Trader Vic’s, we’re on the wall!

Thanks to Anna (@goldyloxxroxx), Stef (@stephaniejay_uk) and Ellen (@b_millinery) for the invite, Trader Vic’s was fab. Lovely to see you again @melodymae and @missteamoody and Emmie (@miss.dirtysideeye) you are all gorgeous and fabulous! Jill (Miss Ruby Roxwell) your idea for that group photo was epic! Xxx

4 thoughts on “Pin up picnic

  1. Hey girl! Lovely post! It was such a great day!
    The little piccy of me and the gals is mine though rather than Anna’s and my tag is spelt a wee bit wrong (@stephaniejay_uk). If you wanted Emmie’s tag it’s @miss.dirtysideeye xxx 🙂
    (its stef by the way!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, sorry about that, do you want me to take it off? If you don’t mind me keeping the pic, I’ll change the caption. As to your tags, I’ll sort it right now! Xxx

      Like

Leave a comment