Vintage

British Belles Pin-up Picnic (in the Bar)

Hi there,
Continuing with my theme of pushing myself outside my comfort zone, I took myself (and my partner-in-crime, Erin) to the British Belles Pin-up Picnic. Originally it was intended to be a picnic in Hyde Park, but the British weather being as it is, a new venue was needed!
Luckily the dry resourceful Minky Urban arranged for some space at Barrio in Shoreditch, and we all went along in our vintage pin-up best.
I chose to wear a Vivien of Holloway Sarong dress which I’d bought a couple of years ago, in the hopes that I’d avoid twinning with anyone, because as you know, I’m not the most confident, and I wasn’t sure I’d bear comparisons!

We found Barrio relatively easily, due to the fact that Erin has an excellent sense of direction,(we call her The Map!) and also the sight of beautiful ladies in colourful dresses making their way to the same place. We met up with some lovely ladies who had made the trip to London specially, and spent the short walk chatting about dresses.

Inside, Barrio was really cool, with colourful decor, including a fabulous booth inside a camper van. We didn’t get the chance to sit in it, but I’m definitely going to next time!

There were lots of glamorous ladies there on the day, some of which I have met before, including the gorgeous Jill, also known as Miss Ruby Roxwell. She was a an absolute joy, and totally made the event for us, we spent ages chatting, and doesn’t she look beautiful in her VOH Bonnie dress?
We had a great time in Barrio, and we tried Cactus Quesadillas, which are a lot less spiky than they sound, and very tasty too. We also had some churros and I might’ve tried a cocktail or two, well, it was happy hour…

Here’s a few photos of some beautiful ladies on the day. We also saw and chatted to Chereeka from Papow & Flo, she had the most amazing vintage dress on! And GoldyLoxxRoxx was there in an outfit so beautiful, she is the VOH Instagram babe of the month.

 

After a great afternoon, we walked back to the train station, and got up to a bit of mischief on the way! We might have also popped in to Vivien’s and I might have bought a tea dress….

Thank you to the British Belles for a great afternoon! Please check out Instagram for more photos! You might even spot me in Papow and Flo’s blog!

Outfits:

Me-
Sarong dress – Vivien of Holloway
Shoes -Miss L Fire UK
Cardigan- New Look

Erin-
Halterneck top and denim shorts – Vivien of Holloway
Shoes – New Look
Angel wings – Model’s own (honest!)

Leave a comment