Vintage

Hollywood Stories

As I'm feeling rather rubbish today, I thought I'd cheer myself up with some vintage inspiration via the gorgeous films that I grew up on. When I was younger, before the advent of multi channel TV, the afternoons were filled with old films, often black and white, but sometimes in glorious technicolor.

The characters in these films were usually impossibly witty and glamorous, with perfect hair, beautiful clothes, and feet that danced through the scenery with grace and skill. I quickly fell in love with Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers, Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn, not to mention all the other stars of the silver screen, such as Gene Kelly, Bing Crosby and Audrey Hepburn.

I watched the videos of Singin' in the Rain and High Society on a loop. I was lucky enough to go to the Grace Kelly exhibition a few years ago, and the dresses are just as breathtaking in real life! I was a big fan of The Wizard of Oz, and loved the films with Judy Garland and Mickey Rooney putting on a show to save one thing or another. Basically, they were my childhood, and although I could never aspire to be as glamorous as Grace Kelly, or as witty as Ginger Rogers, they became the blueprint for my adult style.

So, just for the sake of nostalgia, here's a list of some of my favourite films. You might find that there are the ones you love too, or there might be one or two you haven't seen – I can't argue that they're all masterpieces, but I have great memories of them all!

  • Bringing up Baby – Katharine Hepburn/Cary Grant
  • High Society- Grace Kelly/Bing Crosby/Frank Sinatra
  • Singin' in the Rain- Debbie Reynolds/ Gene Kelly
  • Top Hat – Fred Astaire/ Ginger Rogers
  • Swing Time- Fred Astaire/ Ginger Rogers
  • Bachelor Mother – Ginger Rogers/David Niven
  • Higher and Higher – Frank Sinatra's first film
  • Strike up the Band – Judy Garland/Mickey Rooney
  • Funny Face – Audrey Hepburn/Fred Astaire
  • Paris When it Sizzles – Audrey Hepburn/William Holden
  • The Tender Trap – Frank Sinatra/Debbie Reynolds
  • Pillow Talk – Doris Day/ Rock Hudson
  • Woman of the Year- Katherine Hepburn/Spencer Tracy

This list could honestly be endless! I'm off to watch a movie…

https://youtu.be/F25nzu6hh0Q?autoplay=1

Leave a comment